Divers who want to dip in the water off Cozumels coast can get a license, according to the Florida Department of Law Enforcement.
It’s the first time a state has issued licenses for dive-y divers.
It says the license is valid for a period of up to 12 months, and the fee is $1,500.
The license is only valid for divers who have completed the necessary training and have successfully completed a dive course, and it is valid from Jan. 1, 2019 to Feb. 1 of the following year.
The department’s dive diving licensing program is open to divers who are 21 years old or older, are in good physical condition and have completed at least five dives in the last five years.
The licenses are valid for the entire Cozumaels region and for the greater Miami-Dade region, the agency said in a statement.
The first license is for a diver who has completed the training program and is currently registered with the department.
The next licenses are for divers with a valid dive certificate, and licenses for divers from any of the four counties of Florida, including Palm Beach, Broward, and Seminole counties.
The agency said that license holders can also apply for licenses to dive in other waters and areas outside of Cozums limits.